This is Hope.

My initial plan for this blog was to update the progress of my family chronologically. Of course, actual parenting has meant that’s about as easy to do as nailing a blancmange to the wall. Nevertheless, that’s still my plan.

Having said that, I wanted to quickly write a post about the upcoming UK election.

As I write this, it’s the night before the big vote and I’m feeling…odd to say the least.

As much as I have my opinions – anyone who’s seen my Facebook and Twitter feeds will know I don’t so much lean left or right, as lunge towards one aggressively – this is more a general post about, amongst other things, hope.

I like to consider myself a positive person. Not so much a glass half-full type, more a ‘free glass? Get in!’ sort. Honestly, you should see me at Easter – whoever thought the perfect accompaniment to a chocolate egg was a complimentary ceramic mug is obviously working on a higher plain of intelligence.

I try not to let negativity get me down. Increasingly with politics, I try to think and vote based on what I consider to be decent values. I vote, not just for me, but for people I know and love, and those who need it most. But this election everything suddenly seems different.

Now, it could be following the previous election, the EU Referendum and the rise of that Twitter-happy slab of fake tan in the White House; but suddenly politics seems even more divisive and incendiary than ever. And this election feels like the culmination of everything that’s come before. But not in a series finale way. Although, the world does feel like it’s starting to ape Game of Thrones (except the dragon stuff).

But mainly, the difference comes because this time the need for a positive outcome is even more important. Because now I have more people relying on me to vote the right way. Don’t get me wrong, they’re not watching the leaders’ debates and throwing me knowing looks from their playmat, but in the long term they’re the ones that will benefit – or suffer – the most.

I feel like I am voting the right way – based on the standards and morals I hold dear – but, ultimately, am I right? And will any of this make a difference? I think I know the answers already. But I don’t think it will make it any easier to accept the eventual outcome.

Global and national politics feels bleaker with every day, and with that, it seems our communities are becoming even more fractured. While it might not be the party I’d choose that gets in, it would be nice to feel that, whoever ends up victorious would still bring hope through the door of Number 10.

For me, this election isn’t about whether ‘my team’ wins or loses; it’s about waking up on Friday and feeling safe, about building a positive future for my girls, my family, for everyone. It’s all about hope.

I hope that, come Friday, whoever wins brings with them a feeling of optimism. I hope that, whatever the outcome, people don’t feel the need to gloat or lash out, instead pull together to make the best of the situation and rebuild those connections we’ve lost over the last few months.

I hope that, come Friday, I still feel hopeful. As hopeful as I did when I first found out Lucy was pregnant. As hopeful as I did when I saw the heart monitors firing away for the first time. As hopeful as I was that first morning in hospital, looking at my girls asleep in their crib. Yes, I was terrified, yes I didn’t know what the future held, but beyond the nerves, beyond the fear, beyond the stench of those black, tar-like poos, I felt hopeful, as though the world still had a lot of positivity and optimism left to give.

And I hope it still does.

That said, as I type this, Lucy is watching Love Island. And it currently feels like all hope is gone.

Leave a comment